. . .and in other news.

The total moved on one more this week to 86.  I had gone to z to see if there were any woodcock and owls in the wood between ASDA and Swallow Pond.  I did find a spectacular and noisy Jackdaw roost which may have drowned out the subtle sounds of woodcock, but a fly over Snipe was a bonus I had not expected.

Also I have reached a milestone with my first 50 species tetrad.  I heard a Treecreeper in f and then found House Sparrow so it now stands at 51.  Five more are between 40 and 49.

A Water Rail squealed in the reedbed at Fawdon, but i did not have time to stop and count the rooks nests in the pub car park so I will have to go back.

Redwing singing in Jesmond Vale and by the grass stadium in Byker were a sign of spring, but I am yet to get any migrant passerines.  Lets see what this week brings.

Leave a Reply

