December Scores

Finally, the last month score.  With the dark wet and windy days, oh did I remember to add wet the month was destined to be quite a short one.  Only one new bird was added to the total to make 135 for the year in the 10km square.  That bird was Waxwing, first seen on the Coast Road I could not get there.  The lure of a Surf Scoter was too much.  But luckily 5 flew in front of the car  three days later in Gateshead on a dark morning. Luckily they were found the next day outside the Post Office in Team Valley.  Even though there were some in Jarrow these birds (as they should) attracted a good set of admirers.

And the birds seen in NZ26 by others:

Little Egret; Osprey x2; Marsh Harrier x2; Green Sandpiper; Wood Sandpiper Bar-tailed Godwit; Sandwich Tern x2; Long-eared Owl; Short-eared Owl; Barn Owl; Cuckoo; Yellow-browed Warbler; Brambling.

So I finished on 123, eleven more than my first prediction and 4 short of the score of @joe_dobinson.  There is still a lot out there in NZ26 and the GW Teal and Mealy Redpoll I had on my list of likely birds were not found.

Thanks have to go to those during the year who shared their birds @RossAhmed, @gatesheadandbey @RevdDavidA and my fellow NZ26ers @lophophanes and @joe_dobinson

So if I dont do all the tetrads and can still fit in enough time on my patch will NZ26 feature in my birding in 2016, we’ll have to see.

Image-1

Picture by @leeharris71

2 thoughts on “December Scores

  1. Thanks Darren for your entertaining account of your adventures in NZ26 during the year. So, you move on to a new venture and I’m certain 2016 will prove to be just as interesting. Good luck to you and a Happy New Year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

